Pastor’s Message

GBC (Gunpowder Baptist Church) has a rich history of reaching people within our rural community of Freeland, MD.  As an established church with over 200 years of ministry, our service is far from over.  It’s actually just the beginning.  We are moving forward through a season of transition, with the hope of expanding our leadership, and the promise it will yield a vision that further communicates to our community, “We are unified, to present Christ glorified!”

The joy of being a part of the rich history of our church is inexpressible.  We are thankful that the Lord chose our family to serve within the greater community of GBC, under the leadership of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  We look forward to the continued building of relationships as we endeavor to use the systematic study of God’s Word, with its relevant message for today’s culture, as the foundation for our relationships.

To God Be The Glory,

Pastor Rob Bourcier

 

Pastor Rob BourcierPastorRob

As the primary teaching pastor, Pastor Rob has a passion for carefully unpacking the truths of Scripture.  He has served at  GBC for six years. He and his wife Brenda have three children, Micah, Luke and Ethan.

 

 

History

GBC – (Gunpowder Baptist Church) is named for the Gunpowder River which flows nearby in northern Baltimore County, Maryland.  Organized on August 16, 1806, it is the first church of Baptist denomination to exist in northern Baltimore County.

GBC was formed by a small congregation of 90 men and women who met in the Union Meeting House at the corner of Freeland Road and Middletown Road in present-day Freeland, Maryland.  The Union Meeting House was replaced by a new meeting house in 1887 which is still in use today as a facility for the GBC youth group known as TNT (teens in truth).

 After more than 200 years, GBC continues to reach the surrounding community with the gospel of Jesus Christ.  

It now occupies property on both sides of Middletown Road in Freeland, Maryland with four structures which include a larger sanctuary completed in 1974, a separate parsonage now used as office and Sunday School space and a large pavilion.  The property also includes a basketball court, a large playing field and a shaded playground.